Vegan Cream of Vegetable Soup

Standard

As with most of my recipe creations, what I think I am going to make often turns out in the end to be something completely different.  I’m the cook who uses whatever veggies I have on hand from our CSA and playfully adds things to the mix as I go.  I’ve been told that straying from a recipe is stressful for some but it’s fun for me.  It keeps me flexible and reminds me I’m in the flow.  I like allowing the creation to flow through me and end up having a much more adventurous experience had I just followed a recipe.

This adventure started out today as celery and broccoli soup then quickly morphed into what you see here.  It’s rich and full of flavor.  It reminds me of something I would experience in an upscale New York fine dining experience.  Pair it with a crispy grilled cheese, if you’re so inclined, or leave it alone and let it speak for itself.  Either way, I hope you enjoy!

Vegan Cream of Vegetable Soup

Vegan Cream of Vegetable Soup

Vegan Cream of Vegetable Soup

2 tbs coconut oil

1 onion chopped

1 whole garlic bulb peeled and chopped (use less if you like but I used the whole bulb, not just one clove)
2 sweet potatoes chopped skin on
2 green peppers chopped
1 celeriac root chopped skin on
3-4 celery stalks and leaves chopped
1 bunch of broccoli (chop stems and heads separately)
1 tbs Herbamare seasoning
1 tbs Herbs de Provence
1/2 tbs White pepper
1 tbs Oregano
½ tbs All Purpose Seasoning – Frontier Brand
Juice 1 lemon
2 tbs vegan Worcestershire sauce
1/3 cup Bragg’s Liquid Aminos

1 cup raw cashews soaked 1 hour
1 cup raw sunflower seeds soaked 1 hour

6-8 cups water

  • Heat stock pot on medium heat and melt coconut oil.  Add chopped onions and sauté until golden brown.  Add chopped peppers, potatoes, celeriac root, celery and broccoli (stems only).  Stir to coat with oil and allow to sauté uncovered until the potatoes begin to soften about 20+ minutes.  Add 6-8 cups water and stir well to remove anything sticking to the bottom of the pot during the sauté process.
  • Lightly steam broccoli heads separately using 1 cup water.  Remove from heat and reserve water to add to soup later.
  • Drain cashews and sunflower seeds and add to Vitamix or high powered blender.  Combine lemon juice, Bragg’s and Worcestershire sauce then add to blender.  Take two cups of soup mixture and add to blender.  Blend on high until thick and creamy.
  • Use handheld or submersion blender to blend half of the soup in the stock pot or transfer to blender.  Try to leave at least half of the chopped vegetables intact and whole to help with consistency.
  • Add cashew and sunflower cream to pureed soup mixture.  Stir well.
  • Add steamed broccoli and water and stir again.  Add more water if you want a thinner soup.
  • When stirred, you should be able to see whole pieces of veggies which will add a little texture to the final product.

If you don’t have these particular veggies on hand, you can always substitute for other veggies.  Get creative and see what you can come up and let me know how it works.  Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Inviting Celery & Broccoli Soup « Yummyfoodmadeeasy

  2. Pingback: Velvety Vegetable Soup with a Twist « jittery cook

Leave a Reply

